The Power of Non-Judgement

More learning on the bus….
Last night, I was on a crowded bus  when a schizophrenic man got on. He was pretty volatile and shouting out profanity. I thought for sure this was going to escalate because I could feel some of the folks around him getting ready to fight. I checked inside and decided to use one of my shamanic tools to see if I could shift the energy. I kept him in my line of sight and without looking directly at him, started sending aloha to him. I acknowledged his essence in my mind and after he settled down, I started sending aloha to the other peoples’ essences on the bus. After about 5 minutes, he stopped pacing and came and sat down right across from me. He was silent for the rest of the trip. It was such a great lesson on how non-judgement and compassion can really shift a situation that could turn nasty. He was being belligerent, but it was obvious that he had a mental illness. Compassion goes a LONG way. And I didn’t have to say a word or intercede physically.  Another great experiment and lesson!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Venetta
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 10:00:36

    Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

