A-ha Moments in Golden, BC

sweat lodge overlooking the river

In mid-April, I spent a lovely weekend at a retreat center called Quantum Leaps Lodge in beautiful Golden, BC (www.quantumleaps.ca).  I was just going for some time away from the city and a chance to be unplugged for a few days before the busyness of writing reports for learners starts in May.  Well, it turned into quite a meditative and healing weekend for me.  Lately, I’ve been questioning everything I think I know and have been taught.  I’ve been exploring many different spiritual traditions and removing the dogma from my own ways of approaching the divine.  I’ve gone back to basics- connecting with Spirit directly and listening to my higher self to find out what is true inside of me.  Somewhere along the way, I got wrapped up in shoulds, have tos and need tos.  My spiritual practice became prescribed and I began to lose sight of my vision and what was important to me.  I know this happens.  Sometimes, we veer off from the flow of Spirit and the way it moves through us in individual ways and visit stagnant tributaries.  Still, I kicked myself for allowing myself to get lost in these beliefs. I was in this self-punishing mode when I got to Brian and Annette’s land.  Imagine my surprise when I came across this lovely prophecy hanging on a rustic washroom wall:

A Message from the Hopi Elders

“There is a river flowing now very fast.  It is so great and swift, that there are those who will be afraid.  They will try to hold on to the shore, they will feel they are being torn apart and will suffer greatly.  Know that the river has its destination.  The elders say we must let go of the shore, push off into the middle of the river, and keep our eyes and heads above the water.  And I say, see who is there with you and celebrate.  At this time in history, we are to take nothing personally, least of all ourselves.  For the moment we do, our spiritual growth and journey come to a halt.  The way of the lone wolf is over.  Gather yourselves.  Banish the word struggle from your attitude and vocabulary.  All that we do now must be done in a sacred manner and in celebration.  We are the ones we have been waiting for.”

This was really meaningful for me because for a long time, I’ve been feeling the pull to synthesize the healing modalities I have learned from many traditions into a way of working that is unique to me.  I’ve been scared though of causing harm by mixing modalities and so have held back even though my heart is telling me that I can co-create this with Spirit to make something of real beauty.  It turns out that I’ve been hanging on to the shore and to the apron strings of my teachers so that I don’t have to venture out into scary territory.  I realized with gratitude that this was no longer serving me.  This little birdie needs to leave the nest to explore and create newness.  So with this new awareness, I walked the labyrinth undoing all those dogmatic beliefs and giving them away to Spirit and then brought in life-giving messages from my own heart.

I give gratitude to Annette for telling me the story of the 13 Original Clan Mothers (Jaymie Sams book) and their vision of unity for humans.  This was a gift to me telling me that I am headed in the right direction for me.  And I am grateful to Buddha on the swinging chair, whom I spent a few hours with, reminding me of just BEing and helping me to connect with my vision again.  And giving me the courage to expand it to be more than I ever imagined it would be…

Labyrinth

Me and Buddha chillin’ by the river

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. itsarevolutionbaby
    May 09, 2012 @ 15:54:40

    I’ve missed catching up on your blog. Beautiful, Jen. Thank you, as always, for sharing yourself so authentically and freely. I am so fortunate to call you a friend and teacher!
    xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

