Radical Honesty


Hiding the truth (from yourself and/or others) is a
constant energy drain. To free yourself from the
burden of secrets and lies, you must cultivate the
skill of radical honesty: willingness to reveal any
truth, no matter how “unacceptable” it is.

Withholding truth is such an integral part of our
culture that you probably don’t notice when you’re
doing it. So, for today, pay close attention to your
thoughts and expressions, and continually ask
yourself, “Am I being as honest as I could be
about that? Is there a deeper truth?”

Examples of “acceptable” dishonesty include saying
you’re “fine” when you’re not, and *not* saying how
you feel about the way your friend treats her child.

When you spot a white lie or withheld truth, notice
how it feels in your body — the energy and effort
required to distort or ignore your true feelings.

Then imagine being radically honest — telling it
exactly like it is. If you could be that honest *and*
keep your heart open, would you?

– from Scott Noelle’s DAILY GROOVE

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angeline
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 14:24:23

    Hi Jen,
    I read Brad Blanton’s book on Radical Honesty many years ago. Do you try to practice Radical Honesty yourself? How is it working for you? I live in the Calgary area as well and found your blog when I googled Radical honesty Calgary.
    Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Jen E
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 09:55:23

    Hi Angeline,

    I don’t know the book you speak of. In an effort to “plug” my energy leaks over the years, being honest about myself and the moment as it is without trying to change it from the outside in has been key. One of my teachers says the warriorship is always done on the inside. What we see on the outside of us is the fruit of what we’ve created on the inside. I don’t follow a method, per se. I can say I am happier today than I was yesterday and that I am able to create my life the way I want it more and more as I plug the leaks.

    Now wondering how YOU work with Radical Honesty in your life if you care to share…..

    Thanks for the great questions.
    It was good to reflect on that journey….
    and see how it is coming along….

    Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

