Spruce Meadows: A Birthday Surprise

Friends (Carell and Michelle) surprised me for my birthday on Sunday by taking me to Spruce Meadows- an equestrian facility just outside of Calgary where athletes from all over the world come to show jump their horses.  This was on my wishlist since I got to Calgary in the fall so it was pretty cool to finally get to go.  I wasn’t disappointed.  I was impressed by the athleticism of both horse and human.  It is clear that these horses liked to compete and I again was taken by the relationship between human and horse.  Some horses simply refused to jump over some fences and the human riding them simply re-routed them.  Some horses were just not in the mood to compete at all that day.  In these cases, the humans respected that and withdrew themselves from the competition.  Whether horse and rider did well or not, humans gave their horses lovin’ after the race.  It was a thing of beauty.  And what made it even more special was that I got to share the day with two dear friends.  We ate Greek food at this surprisingly international place under the shade of a big ol’ tree and enjoyed chatting and relaxing.  I am blessed indeed.

Leave a Reply

