“Spring” in Calgary

Sanctuary Arrangement: Findhorn Scotland

I hope wherever you are that you are enjoying the increasing light and warmth of the spring Equinox.  I am learning that here in Calgary, the warmth and friskiness of spring is a bit unpredictable.  The week before the Equinox, it was extremely warm and the snow melted so fast that the streets of Calgary were like rivers!  Home bred Calgarians were out in their shorts and t-shirts.  I have learned that Calgarians like to capitalize on these nice chinook streaks in this way.  It is not uncommon to see flip flops or sandals being worn during these times!  Did I say how much I admire and love these slightly crazy people?  So I welcomed this spring weather and warm sun by creating a flower arrangement on my Findhorn sanctuary pot that I brought back with me this summer and welcomed the energies of spring.

The next morning, I woke up to go pee at about 6 am and I looked out my kitchen window like I usually do to check out the sunrise.  It was snowing- not surprisingly.  My alarm set in when I noticed the Calgary Tower was on fire.  Or so I thought.  I watched if for a minute or so to see if it was a controlled fire or not.  I jumped onto the Internet and saw that the tower was built to be on fire for the 1988 Calgary Olympics; this was the Olympic flame 🙂  In Alberta fashion, it was on to mark Shell Gas and Oil Company’s 100 year anniversary. Needless to say, I laughed at myself on the way back to my cozy bed happy it wasn’t a fire “problem.”

Calgary Tower Sans Flame

Calgary Tower Flamed On

Another adventure that proved how much of a Vancouverite I am happened when I left my apartment to go swimming a couple of days ago.  As I waited for the Route 2 bus, I noticed that the trees looked like lace.  I was transfixed and perplexed all at once as I tried to figure out what had caused this; it had not snowed for a few days.  From far away, some of the trees looked like white ribbon magnolia in bloom.  Anyhow, I jumped on my bus and stared in awe at all the trees as we drove down 17 Ave SW.  When I got to Killarney park, I got close to the trees and bushes and examined them only to find spike-like frost on the branches of the shrubs.  I was entranced and I entertained myself for a while touching the ice and watching it melt from the warmth of my hands.

spike-y hoar frost

That night, I was talking to my friend, Michelle, on the way to drumming and told her of this discovery of mine with great enthusiasm.  She said in a matter of fact tone of one who abhors snow or anything cold, “Oh.  That?  That’s hoar frost.”  I was thrilled.  “It has a name,” I thought, “Awesome stuff.”

From Wikipedia:

“Hoar frost is white frost or rime is the tiny solid deposition of water vapor from saturated air which occurs when the temperature of the surfaces is below freezing point. It occurs generally with clear skies. Air hoar, surface hoar, crevasse hoar and depth hoar are all types of hoar frost or technically: Radiation frost”

I lamented to Michelle that unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera on me and she promised me a picture she’d taken:

Michelle's Hoar Frost Picture

Leave a Reply

