Questions and Answers

I’ve loved Rilke’s poetry for a long time now.  I leave on the plane to start my new life in Calgary on Halloween.  All week, I’ve been running into people from my past- and I mean WAY back.  Saw a guy I went to elementary school with today.  It is as if my old life wants some wrap up.  I am excited and ready to move to Calgary.  The last few days have been about letting go and allowing the range of emotions to be there: fear, joy, relief, sadness, gratitude, excitement, wonder and love.  This quote helped with that today:

“I beg you…to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language.  Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them.  And the point is, to live everything.

Live the questions now.

Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”

-Rainer Maria Rilke

For the folks I leave behind in B.C., I want you to know that with every ending comes a new beginning.  I know our relationships will change as a result of my move and I feel the changes will be positive.  And I will miss you.  I invite you to keep in touch with me through my blog, Skype, e-mail, and phone; I will do the same. It is my intent to keep those relationships growing in a different way.  Your love and support and friendship means a lot to me; I am grateful for all the gifts you’ve brought into my life and continue to bring.  And if you are ever in Calgary, stop in for a coffee.  I would invite you to stay but with only 350 square feet to my name, you would have to sleep standing up- or in the bathtub!

Goodbye, Vancouver.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Dumaresq
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:21:21

    OMG OMG OMG, Jen! I feel terrible that I will not be able to say goodbye in person! (a kiss on this cheek – a kiss on that cheek – big hug!) It has been so chaotic here in the last little while that time has just gotten completely away from me! And this weekend is jam packed! Please know that I will miss you SO much, that I wish you all the best in this new part of your journey, and that I know we will meet again. I will stay in touch, (please send me your new snail mail addy too!) XXOO Fair winds, my dear friend! Deb

    Reply

  2. Jen E
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 23:06:23

    No worries, Deb. Funny that this week, everyone finally *realized* I was leaving and all wanted to see me at the same time. No can do. Good thing is that all my stuff is off with the movers now so it is just finishing off the last two days of visits and last minute stuff. Will send out my contact info soon. And I will be coming back to Vancouver now and again so I will drop you a line…
    xo
    Jen

    Reply

  3. Verena
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 16:00:10

    enjoy your new adventure – calgary is lucky to have you!
    xo have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

