Chillin’ in Campbell River

I am here in smokin’ hot Campbell River at the moment visiting Doris and my goddaughters.  It’s been great catching up and spending time lovin’ them up as I don’t get to see them as much as I used to when we all lived in Vancouver.  Before dinner last night, Paige and I went down to the pond and cut some wildflowers to make arrangements to decorate the table.  I really enjoyed doing this creative project with her and it was nice to chat with her about ideas as we walked.  The only flowers in these arrangements that came from her garden were the hibiscus:

When Doris saw my travel worn feet, she offered me a pedicure!  Needless to say, I decided not to post a before picture but here is the after:

I gratefully accepted.  Thanks, Doris.

After breakfast and yakking at the table for two hours over cups of coffee, Doris and I were finally ready to head down to Salmon Point Beach at 1 pm.  I read my book (THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE- which I highly recommend!) and she read her “trashy mags” as she calls them.  We talked more and wandered around taking pictures.  Here are some of them that I took:

Wildflower

Chillaxing at Salmon Point

Doris hiding her translucent Austrian skin under the shade of an umbrella.

We found this huge uprooted tree on the beach and I snapped this picture when Doris went over to check it out.

This photo was taken on Gabriola of my friend Ann.  She might be a bit embarrassed that I am saying this but I just have to let her know how much of an inspiration she is to me.  We honour her as the grandmother in our group.  She is in her 70s and I hope that when I am her age, I am as creative, alive, curious, and playful as she is.

You rock the party!

I love you!

Leave a Reply

